March Empties

Better late, than never… right?

I have a bunch of empties from March. So let’s just get right to it.

This first group is bath/body items…

ImageHerbal Essences – Honey I’m Strong shampoo and conditioner: I did like these… for a while. They smell really nice, and my hair was feeling really soft. I even recommended them to someone online, who said she didn’t like Herbal Essences because it tends to build up in her hair. I told her these weren’t causing that problem… Until, they did. About half-way through the bottle I noticed my hair was feeling greasy even right after I washed it. So I tried another shampoo brand, and it felt clean. It took about 3 more times for me to be convinced it was buildup from the shampoo/conditioner. Determined to finish the bottles, I alternated between this and another shampoo until I finished it. Would I buy it again? Sadly, no.

Cake – Vanilla Cupcake body wash: I know Cake calls these body wash/shampoos, but I only ever use it as a body wash. It smells AMAZING. Amazing. Like a bakery in my shower. I was lucky to catch this on clearance for $5, but normally the price is a little high for my liking. Would I buy it again? Yes, but only if I can catch it on sale.

L’Oreal split end serum sample: Remember how I got these from Influenster for testing? I finally used up the split-end serum. I did like this product… it didn’t weigh down my hair, or make it greasy. It did smell great though! Would I buy it again? Maybe. I have a full-sized sample I received from Influenster to use… but I’m working on some other products right now.

Bath & Body Work foaming hand soaps: Pretty sure I’ve had at least one of these in my empties post every month. Would I buy it again? Yes…. right after I use up the 12 under my sink.

Next up, facial skin care products.

ImageNeutrogena – Pore Refining Cleanser: I received this sample from Klout (which you should totally sign up for if you haven’t yet!)… It was just okay for me. It’s gentle, but smelled a little too chemically for my taste. Also, my face is super oily… I just didn’t feel like I got enough of a deep clean with this. I like the squeaky-clean feeling, but I know many people don’t. If you’re one of them… you might like this. Would I buy it again? No, I like other things in this price range better!

Olay – Wet Cleansing Towels: I picked these up in a pinch when I ran out of makeup removing wipes. They were okay – they got the job done… but felt a bit dry and I didn’t like the scent too much. Would I buy it again? No… I like other brands more!

Pond’s makeup removing towels: Speaking of other brands I like better… this one is one of them! I got these on a great sale – 50% off and they came in a bonus pack with 2 packages. Meaning, I got 2 packs for half the price of 1. Awesome. I like these a lot. I use them to take off my makeup at night before washing my face, and I use them to wipe my brushes to spot clean quickly  in the morning. Would I buy it again? Yes. They are very moist and do a great job.

Clinique – Acne Solutions Clarifying Lotion: This toner lasted me forever! Seriously, I feel like it took me a year to use it up. I like it a lot… it works well without stinging my face, and I do feel it helps control my oil a bit better. I just wish it came in the larger size! This was $22cdn, and the next size up is twice as much product for only $27cdn. Would I buy it again? Sort of – I’m sticking with Clinique, but switched to their #4 Clarifying Lotion (for oily skin), since I can get the larger size and save a lot of money!

Finally, beauty products!

ImageSoap & Glory – Scrub ’em and Leave ’em Body Buff: I picked this up in England and finally got around to using it after emptying my Body Shop scrub last month. I adore this! My legs felt so smooth using a combination of this and body butter every night… also, it smells amazing! No downside! Would I buy it again? Absolutely! I can’t wait to use up my other scrubs so I can!

Soap & Glory – Flake Away Body Polish: Another England purchase. This one has finer particles than the Scrub ‘Em, so if you’re looking for a gentler exfoliater, this is the way to go. This one is scented with the same scent as Hand Food – so if you like Hand Food, you’ll love this. Since I first used Hand Food while actually in England, that scent is now a trigger for me remembering England! AKA – it’s awesome. For that reason, I’m torn between the two. I think Scrub ‘Em was a better exfoliater for my legs (which are terribly dry), but this one smells great. Would I buy it again? Yep… I might just have to live with having both. Darn.

Benefit – Bathina “soft to touch…hard to get” Silky & Seductive Body Oil Mist: Holy long name, Batman. This body oil smells so good… anything with Sweet Almond, and I’m sold. The thing about this body oil, is that you don’t feel oily after using it. It must be some kind of unicorn magic, but it seriously just left my skin feeling soft and smooth without any greasy or oily feel! Would I buy it again? Yes!… right after I use up some more lotions. 

Benefit – Pore-fessional: Love, love, love. A great face primer for any oily girl. I’ve reviewed this before, and keep using it up! I’m getting close to the end of my face primer samples, so I’m likely picking this up in full-size soon. Would I buy it again? For sure.

Smashbox – Photo Finish Foundation Primer: This is a decent primer… but doesn’t compare to the Pore-fessional. Sorry, Smashbox. I tried to love you. Would I buy it again? Not likely.

Urban Decay Primer Potion: A cult favourite – I remember this being one of the first eyeshadow primers that people went bananas for. I do love it a lot… but there are so many other brands with good primers out now, and I really want to try some of them out! Would I buy it again? Yes – but I am going to try some others out first to see if I like them better.

 

Hey! We made it! 16 empties this month… I have a feeling April will be a little lighter on the finished products. My favourites this month were definitely the Soap & Glory scrubs… so delicious smelling! I’d love to see what empties you have for March… leave a link in the comments and I’ll check it out!

3 thoughts on “March Empties

    • I have had a few months lately with lots of empties… but my half-finished hoard is slowly thinning, so I suspect those high months won’t be as common after a bit.

  1. Pingback: May Empties | Oh My Swatch!

Leave a Reply

