Birthday Week – My first ‘high-end’ polish!

When I was in school, I did have a little polish collection growing but I kept it modest and stuck to mainly drugstore and salon brands (China Glaze, OPI, Sally Hansen) because I had a goal of graduating without debt (which I did! Yay, me!).

Image

So in 2010 I was finally out of school and although I didn’t have a full-time job yet, I also didn’t have the expenses like I did in University. MAC released the Disney Venomous Villains collection in Fall 2010 and I was just absolutely smitten with the polishes… but I had never dropped more than $8 or so on a bottle of polish! These were $15 each. I debated on it for quite a while, and finally decided to just pull the trigger. Lucky for me, they were still in stock. I’m sure you know how quickly a MAC special collection can sell out.

This is one of the 3 I grabbed at that time. I nearly choked spending $45 on 3 polishes… but now I don’t bat an eye. Oh, how things change. Bad Fairy is a shimmery red-orange duochrome. I think it’s gorgeous! The brush on MAC polishes is not my favourite… it’s too round and with all the shimmery goodness in this polish it just puffs up too much. And I hate how small these polishes are! I’ve been using this so sparingly to make it last!

Image

Image

Do you remember your first ‘high-end’ polish? The one that made you cringe a little when you heard the total… Eep!

2 thoughts on “Birthday Week – My first ‘high-end’ polish!

  1. Wow, this is gorgeous! ♥ I love multichromes. I think the first “more expensive” polish I bought was “Reflection” of OPI’s Designer Series along with “Extravagance” and “Jewel”. A few months ago I came across Deborah Lippmann which are about $25 in Germany. So there’s that (but I got them from TJ Maxx in Germany). 😀

Leave a Reply

