June Empties

June Empties 3

  • Batiste Dry Shampoo for Dark & Deep Brown Hair: I already knew I liked Batiste Dry Shampoo, so when I saw the kind for dark hair I thought I’d give it a try. It sprays out brown rather than white, which is nice for those of us with dark hair. No white residue to worry about. I like this! Would I buy it again? Yup! I need more now, actually!
  • John Frieda Brilliant Brunette shampoo & conditioner: My hair is brunette… but it’s not coloured, so I’m not sure I really benefit from this. Did I like it? It was okay. My hair was clean, but it didn’t leave it exceptionally soft or shiny. Would I buy it again? I doubt it.
  • Bumble and Bumble Surf shampoo & conditioner: This was lovely! My hair was shiny and bouncy after using it. Darn the price point though. I love b&b products but they are so expensive for the size you get. It’s always a war within when deciding whether or not to buy them! Would I buy it again? Yes, when I win the lotto. Hah.
  • John Frieda Frizz Ease shampoo & conditioner: This was really nice! It smells nice and my hair was feeling really silky and smooth after using it. I actually also got a sample of a serum to use to and when I used them all together my hair looked great! Would I buy it again? I actually found them on sale, so I already did!
  • MD Solar Sciences tinted mineral creme SPF 30: I’m a big fan of tinted sunscreen cremes. I mean, if I’m slathering my face with a thick lotion that doesn’t really absorb… I’d kind of prefer it to sort of match my face. I get hives on my neck and face from the sun, so needless to say I really do slather the sunscreen on. I liked this lotion a lot… I just wish it was a higher SPF. I need protection. Would I buy it again? I would if they came out with SPF 50!

June Empties 2

  • Seche Restore nail polish thinner: I use this for polishes that have become a little too thick for my liking. It works really well – but be careful to seal the bottle tightly. Half of this disappeared thanks to evaporation! How ironic… (you know, because polish gets thick due to evaporation… and this combats that. Y’know? Ok.) Would I buy it again? Yup. I know some people are not into it because it’s not 3-Free, so I’m now testing out a thinner that is.
  • Sally Hansen Diamond Flash quick-dry topcoat: I liked this a lot. It dried quickly and left my nails shiny. I did not like that the bottle is black and you can’t tell how much is left, aka, I don’t know when I need to get a new bottle until it’s too late. Not okay, dude. Would I buy it again? Maybe. If it came in a clear bottle, I would for sure! Yes… it bugged me that much!
  • Essie Good to Go quick-dry topcoat: I’ve gone through a bunch of bottles of this topcoat and like it for it’s shininess and easy availability (any drug store or Walmart, Target and salon-type stores). I don’t like how the bottom few mm gets so thick and goopy. Every time. Would I buy it again? Probably, but I’m looking for something I love more. Suggestions welcome!!
  • Givenchy Very Irresistible Sensual: This was a pretty strong fragrance, but I did like it. It’s described as being “composed of peony, fruity-green accords of Liv Tyler rose, bouquet of various rose sorts, star anise, patchouli and vanilla.” I found it in between floral-y and vanilla-scented. First spray was a lot, but it calmed down after a half-hour or so. Would I buy it again? Probably not. I liked it, but not enough to shell out for it.
  • Tory Burch signature fragrance: Sephora describes it as a “Floral peony and tuberose blend with crisp citrus notes of grapefruit and neroli anchored by earthy vetiver—a bright and complex mix.” I really, really love it! I’m a big fan of the vetiver scent. I have a candle with the scent that I love to burn. I like this perfume because it smells so nice but I find it really unique. Do yourself  a favour and try out the body lotion at Sephora – so luxurious (but so expensive)! Would I buy it again? Heck yea! I’m hoping to grab a roller ball of it with my Sephora gift card!
  • Maybelline The Falsies Volum’ Express mascara: Am I the only one bothered by the spelling of Volum’? Why no e? Why an apostrophe in place of it? I don’t understand. Am I supposed to say vol-uhm? Either way… the mascara rocks. It gives me great volume (or volum’) and length (or lengt’) and doesn’t flake off. Would I buy it again? Yup!

June Empties 1

  • Pond’s Original wet cleansing towelettes: You already know these are my favourite makeup remover wipes, don’t you? Seriously. Every month I have at least one pack of them in my empties! Would I buy these again? It goes without saying.
  • Garnier Fresh eye makeup remover: I liked this for it’s fresh scented and makeup-removing power. Also, it’s not oily!! Oily eye makeup remover is such a pain. Why do I want to remove one substance from my face just to stick another one on? No, thanks. I saturate a cotton pad with this and then rest it on my eye for about 10 seconds then wipe it off. It takes away most of the eye makeup that way. I wash my face after that, so this saves the mascara from running down my face. Would I buy it again? Yup, as soon as I use up what other ones I have!
  • Consonant The Perfect Sunscreen: This is another tinted mineral creme. It smells a bit unusual (i.e., different than we’re used to having sunscreen smell), but it doesn’t leave your skin glowing white. It is a bit greasy, but it’s a sunscreen! I haven’t found one yet that isn’t at least a bit greasy. That being said, this is only SPF 30, and it went bad super quickly… less than one year after I bought it. Would I buy it again? Sorry, no.
  • Ole Henriksen Protect the Truth Vitamin C SPF 50 sunscreen: Phew. Yay! 50 SPF. This sunscreen isn’t as thick as some others so it spreads easily around my face, meaning it doesn’t leave a white glow after I use it. I also didn’t find it as greasy as some others. Plus, the Vitamin C makes it smell nice. Would I buy it again? I already did, in full size!
  • Josie Maran Argan Cleansing Oil: I used this in the shower to break down my makeup before washing my face with my Clinique soap. It smells delightful and doesn’t leave my face feeling greasy, like you’d think an oil would! I’m a big fan of oil cleansers (although I usually use another wash afterwards since I like the squeaky-clean feeling). Would I buy it again? Yes. I switched to the Dior oil cleanser for now though, since I can get it at Shopper’s Drug Mart and their points system is way better than Sephora’s!

Holy cannoli! I feel like you deserve a prize if you read this far. I feel like I deserve a prize for writing this far. Let’s all take a break now… What did you empty this month? I’d love to check it out, so leave your links below!! Happy-almost-weekend!

3 thoughts on “June Empties

  1. I love your empties posts! They always makes me want to finish up some products & also buy some new ones lol

    • Thanks Melanie! I am so bad at finishing things so this has really been motivating me to finish the last bits in products!

Leave a Reply

