Long Weekend Mani

Here in Ontario, many of us were lucky enough to have a long weekend this past weekend. It’s always a huge cottage weekend for people in the city, but especially for my family. We have a long-standing (over 40 years!) tradition of having a huge party at the cottage on the August long weekend. It started when my grandparents paid off their mortgage and threw a big luau. They had so much fun they decided to do it again the next year… except with a different country theme. Each year a country is drawn from a hat to prepare for the next summer. This year, we celebrated Ireland. We all cook up a traditional (as traditional as we can find) Irish meal and feast away! Plus, we listened to some Irish music, did a scavenger hunt for a leprechaun, and played some Irish trivia. Some people dress up in cheeky costumes (like my Granny who wore a shirt that said Irish I was a millionaire). Overall, a super fun, if not silly, traditional.

I didn’t dress up this year, but I decided to sport some theme nails for the weekend. Inspired by the Irish flag, I busted out some green, white, and orange polishes.

girly-bits-eat-sleep-polish-irish-flag-mani

From left to right: Eat.Sleep.Polish. in Hot Orange is the New Black, and Wisdom, Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear in White On, and Girly Bits in King of the Lab.ย 

girly-bits-eat-sleep-polish-irish-flag-mani

This is the mani design I came up with. I used 3 coats of each polish, and topped my thumb and pinky off with 2 coats of Hot Orange is the New Black. I finished all with a coat of topcoat.

This orange is King of the Lab, a polish inspired by the Bones TV series. Read my full review here.

girly-bits-eat-sleep-polish-irish-flag-mani

This green was a monthly release from Eat. Sleep. Polish. Sadly, it’s not available anymore, but you can still read my full review here. She released 2 new monthly polishes yesterday, so go check them out on herย website before they’re gone!

girly-bits-eat-sleep-polish-irish-flag-mani

Finally, Hot Orange is the New Black is a glitter topper filled with different shapes of orange and black glitter, with some holo glitter thrown in for good measure. This was also a limited edition polish but I suggest following ESP on Facebook to keep in the know about upcoming LE polishes… she tends to come out with them every now and then, and they are always fun! This one was great consistency. I used two coats to get the glitter coverage the way I wanted it, but I had no issues with formula or getting a good mix of glitter!

Does your family have any fun traditions like mine… or are we just crazy? ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Long Weekend Mani

Leave a Reply

