Julep Roc Solid & Sephora by OPI 212-Sephora

Okay, let’s not talk about how I peeled the plastic shrink-wrap off my Sephora by OPI 212-Sephora just this week. Any of you who have been polish-obsessed for a while know this is the elusive polish that Sephora released to celebrate opening a store in New York’s Times Square. It was originally only available at that location and the internet exploded.

212-sephora-julep-roc-solid
Okay, not really but people were really disappointed because it’s such a beautiful colour. I mean… look at it! The flakies, the glitter, the shimmer and duochrome-ness. Finally, Sephora relented and had it available online and then in stores later. Let’s just say it was worth the hunt it took to get this bad boy in my hands! But let’s not say that this polish has been sitting in my collection for something like 4 years without being used. Okay? We’ll think about it and shake our heads, but let’s not talk about it!

I decided for the occasion to use it as a topper. I mean, the polish is beautiful and the brand is not longer around so you know I have to ration this out. I decided to use Julep’s Roc Solid as a base. Roc Solid is a dusty green creme that reminds me of the old chalkboards that used to be in schools. While the colour is pretty, I’m just glad I don’t have one of those awful chalkboards in my classroom!

julep-roc-solid

This is 2 coats with topcoat. The formula was really nice and applied evenly.

julep-roc-solid

Then, I topped it with one coat of 212-Sephora, and another coat of topcoat.

212-sephora

212-sephora

Isn’t it gorgeous? Do you have this one in your collection? And I must know… what’s the longest a polish has sat in your untried collection?

8 thoughts on “Julep Roc Solid & Sephora by OPI 212-Sephora

  1. Rumor has it that OPI has rebottled and renamed this polish and distributed at TJMaxx recently. To make it even more confusing, the name is one they used before, Frog in My Throat, for a different polish. I have the Sephora 212 version and it is still in my untrieds. I need to break that bad boy out- looks great for winter.

    • I can confirm this is true! I bought a bottle of it at a TJMaxx or Marshall’s (I can’t remember which and the receipt is long since gone) in October.

    • It does have greens in the bottle, but I’m wondering how much my undies of Roc Solid affected the colour. It seemed pretty opaque but I’ll have to try it out alone to know for sure.

Leave a Reply

