November Ipsy Unboxing

This month’s Ipsy bag theme was ‘Girl Meets Glitter’ so I was expecting to receive Holiday party themed items in my bag… Did Ipsy deliver on the theme this month? Come along to see what I got!

November Ipsy || Oh My Swatch

The bag itself is a coated silver glitter bag with pink accents… it’s actually made by Forever 21 Cosmetics and is pretty cute!

November Ipsy || Oh My Swatch

In my bag I received Marc Anthony Oil of Morocco Argan Oil Volume Shine Hairspray, SeaRx Birch Sap Moisturizing Lotion, IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye in the shade Neutral Medium, J. Cat Beauty Wonder Lip Paint in the shade Mad Splatter, and finally, Starlooks Gem Eye Pencil in the shade Ultra Olive.

At first glance I was happy with the eyeliner and lip paint. The other three I’m pretty neutral on, but none of them were something I wouldn’t use or even try so that’s a good start!

So far, I’ve try out the SeaRx Birch Sap lotion and it seemed okay. It didn’t knock my socks off, but didn’t have any negative that stood out right away so that’s good. I haven’t tried the hairspray yet, but it’s supposed to nourish your hair with the argan oil while giving you the hold of a hairspray. I’ll definitely be trying this out during the week for work.

Let’s take a look at the coloured products this month: I haven’t tried the IT cosmetics concealer yet, but I think it might be a bit dark for my skin. I’m not sure why Ipsy would send the same shade to everyone! Seems very silly.

nov ipsy 2

The J. Cat Wonder Lip Paint was really watery when I first opened it. It really needed a good squish in the tube to mix it back together. I found it to be a bit thinner than the OCC lip tars, but has the same minty scent (which I love). The shade I got, Mad Splatter, is a deep fuschia with blue shimmer. It gives it a great shine on the lips. Use only a small amount! I found this to bleed on my lips (but so do the OCC lip tars) so I used a clear lipliner to help.

J Cat Wonder Lip Paint - Mad Splatter || Oh My Swatch

The one thing I found kind of weird about the J Cat product was that the little applicator can pop right out of the tube. It makes me nervous that it will pop out while I’m squishing out what I need and make a huge mess. It came out really easily while I was cleaning the tip of it… so be careful with it! OCC lip tars do not do this!

j cat wonder lip 2

The Starlooks Gem liner is super sparkly and a pretty olive tone. I found it applied really easily but also had lots of fallout. Wait, what? An eyeliner with fallout? Yes. It’s true!!! But it’s shimmery like an olive disco ball so I guess it can almost be expected. I wore it on my bottom lid with a simple cat-eye look and it was really pretty. I might forgive the fallout issue for that reason.

Starlooks Gem Eye Pencil - Ultra Olive || Oh My Swatch

Finally – I redeemed some of my Ipsy points for a trio of Milani eyeshadows! I was pumped to get these along with my bag this month.

Milani Bella Eyes Gel Powder eyeshadow || Oh My Swatch

Milani Bella Eyes Gel Powder eyeshadow || Oh My Swatch

From left to right: Bella Espresso, Bella Gold, Bella Ivory

I’m so glad I got to snag these… the colours are gorgeous and the shadows are really pigmented! They blend easily and are very soft. Now I’m on the hunt for more. I know you can get Milani at Loblaw’s so I’ll be checking there to see if they have more colours!

In case you don’t know, Ipsy is a beauty subscription service that delivers 4-5 samples (in a cosmetics bag) each month for $10 (Canadians – we pay $5 extra for shipping). While I don’t always love everything that comes in my bag, I do love the opportunity to try out new products without investing tonnes of money into it! Plus, it’s a great way to be introduced to brands I haven’t heard about yet. Sign up for Ipsy here (my referral link) if you’re interested.

What did you get in your Ipsy bag that you love this month?

2 thoughts on “November Ipsy Unboxing

Leave a Reply

