Holographic Glitter Topcoats… the Showdown!

I like shiny things, especially if they sparkle like a rainbow under the sun. So it’s no surprise that I have a huge love for holographic glitter topcoats! I bust these out when I’m feeling like my polish is a little too plain. Sometimes, if I don’t have time for a full mani, I just layer one of these over whatever I’m already wearing and get a few more days out of it before I need to change my polish. I love that they are so versatile. You can layer them over any colour and let the base poke through, wear it as an accent layer, or with some of them you can layer them to rainbow-blinding opacity all on their own!

Holographic Glitter topcoats || Oh My Swatch

From Left to Right: OPI Which is Witch?, OPI Snowflakes in the Air, Barry M Diamond Glitter, Claire’s Hollywood, Hard Candy Celebrate Sequins

I rounded up five from my collection (there are a few more) and decided to put them to the test. These are only the pure-holo-glitter polishes. I do have lots of others with other types of glitter mixed in!

I started out with a base of two coats of Red Red Wine by Pacifica.

Pacifica - Red Red Wine || Oh My Swatch

Then, I layered one coat of each glitter over top. I did one finger per polish so that it’s easy to compare.

Holographic Glitter Topcoats || Oh My Swatch

From Thumb to Pinky: Celebrate Sequins, Which is Witch?, Snowflakes in the Air, Diamond Glitter, and Hollywood

Unfortunately, my thumb doesn’t like bending so you can see it! Let’s check them out up close so we can really compare the differences.

Let’s start with Celebrate Sequins. This one has a mix of medium hex and square glitter, with smaller dots mixed in.

Hard Candy - Celebrate Sequins || Oh My Swatch Hard Candy - Celebrate Sequins || Oh My Swatch 

Next is Which is Witch? This OPI polish is a mix of different sized hexagons and bar glitter! I love bar glitter, it’s so fun.

OPI - Which is Witch? || Oh My Swatch OPI - Which is Witch? || Oh My Swatch

The next is another OPI. This one is Snowflakes in the Air. This one small and medium hexagons. I like that you can see more of the base colour under this one.

OPI - Snowflakes in the Air || Oh My Swatch OPI - Snowflakes in the Air || Oh My Swatch

The fourth is one I picked up while in England. I wish Barry M was more readily available over here! Darn. This one is called Diamond Glitter. It’s a mix of different sized hexagons and tiny dots.

Barry M - Diamond Glitter  || Oh My Swatch Barry M - Diamond Glitter  || Oh My Swatch

Finally, this is Claire’s Hollywood. I can’t say for sure that this one is still available, but Claire’s always has lots of glitter polishes for a good price, so they are worth checking out. This one is more of a fine glitter with a few small hexagons mixed in.

Claire's - Hollywood || Oh My Swatch Claire's - Hollywood || Oh My Swatch

Phew. The only bad thing I have to say is that taking these off is not going to be fun! I can’t choose a favourite… can you? Do you have any others that I need to add to my collection?

10 thoughts on “Holographic Glitter Topcoats… the Showdown!

Leave a comment